When the NFL schedule was announced five months ago most out of town fans of the Patriots circled week two as a game they would likely see from the comfort of their own living room or man cave. After all it was a 4:15 game between two of the elite teams in the AFC and the New England Patriots; it would surely be broadcast just about anywhere, right?


Although this game is indeed the primary game for CBS in their late slot, there are sizable portions of the country that will not see it unless they have the Sunday Ticket, a Slingbox, head to a local sports bar, or roll the dice with a fuzzy illegal internet stream.

The Miami and Houston television markets were going to get the Dolphins’ game versus the Texans, but it looks like most of the rest of those states will also get those games. So fans in Fort Myers, Tampa, Orlando, Jacksonville, and all of Texas – with the exception of Dallas – will not see the Pats on local television.

In addition most all of Ohio, Kentucky, Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Nebraska, South Dakota, North Dakota, Montana, Wyoming and Idaho will be treated to a compelling matchup between the Bengals and Broncos rather than the Pats – Chargers game.

Jim Nantz and Phil Simms are the announcers for the Pats-Chargers game; Ian Eagle and Dan Fouts will do the Miami game while CBS’ number eight team of someone or something known as Spero Dedes (is that contagious?) calls the Broncos-Bengals game; for his sake analyst Steve Beuerlein better not sit too close.

For the early game the New England area and most of the southeast will get the Jaguars – Jets game; Greg Gumbel and Dan Dierdorf are the announcers. The early game broadcast on Fox in New England is a good one: Chicago at New Orleans; their number one crew of Joe Buck and Troy Aikman will be the announcers for that matchup.

To the best of my knowledge, this is a complete listing of the television stations that will be airing the Pats – Chargers game; for a visual representation check out the506.com.

Alaska: KTVA, Anchorage; KXD, Fairbanks

Alabama: WIAT, Birmingham; WHNT, Huntsville; WKRG, Mobile; WAKA, Montgomery

Arkansas: KFSM, Fort Smith; KTHV, Little Rock

Arizona: KPHO, Phoenix; KOLD, Tucson; KSWT, Yuma

California: KBAK, Bakersfield; KHSL, Chico; KVIQ, Eureka; KGPE, Fresno; KCBS, Los Angeles; KION, Monterey; KPSP, Palm Springs; KOVR, Sacramento; KFMB, San Diego; KCOY, Santa Maria

Connecticut: KFSB, Hartford

DC: WUSA, Washington

Georgia: WGCL, Atlanta; WRDW, Augusta; WRBL, Columbus; WMAZ, Macon; WTOC, Savannah

Hawaii: KGMB, Honolulu

Iowa: KGAN, Cedar Rapids; KCCI, Des Moines; KIMT, Mason City; KMEG, Sioux City

Idaho: KLEW, Lewiston

Illinois: WCIA, Champaign; WBBM, Chicago; WMBD, Peoria; WHBF, Rock Island

Indiana: WEVV, Evansville; WISH, Indianapolis; WLFI, Lafayette; WSBT, South Bend; WTHI, Terre Haute

Kansas: KOAM, Pittsburgh; WIBW, Topeka; KWCH, Wichita

Kentucky: WNKY-DT, Bowling Green

Louisiana: KALB-DT, Alexandria; WAFB, Baton Rouge; KLFY, Lafayette; KNOE, Monroe; WWL, New Orleans

Massachusetts: WBZ, Boston; WSHM, Springfield

Maryland: WJZ, Baltimore; WBOC, Salisbury

Maine: WABI, Bangor; WGME, Portland; WAGM, Presque Isle

Michigan: WLNS, Lansing; WJMN, Marquette; WNEM, Saginaw; WWTV, Traverse City

Minnesota: KDLH, Duluth; KEYC, Mankato; WCCO, Minneapolis

Missouri: KFVS, Cape Girardeau; KHQA, Hannibal; KRCG, Jefferson City; KCTV, Kansas City; KTVO, Kirksville; KOLR, Springfield; KMOV, St. Louis

Mississippi: WCBI, Columbus; WXVT, Greenville; WHLT, Hattiesburg; WJTV, Jackson; WMDN, Meridian

North Carolina: WBTV, Charlotte; WFMY, Greensboro; WNCT, Greenville; WRAL, Raleigh; WILM, Wilmington

North Dakota: KXJB, Fargo

Nebraska: KGIN, Grand Island; KOLN, Lincoln; KMTV, Omaha

Nevada: KLAS, Las Vegas; KTVN, Reno

New York: WRGB, Albany; WBNG, Binghamton; WIVB, Buffalo; WENY-DT, Elmira; WCBS, New York; WROC, Rochester; WTVH, Syracuse; WWNY, Watertown

Oklahoma: KWTV, Oklahoma City; KOTV, Tulsa

Oregon: KBNZ, Bend; KVAL, Eugene; KTVL, Medford; KOIN, Portland

Pennsylvania: WTAJ, Altoona; WSEE, Erie; WHP, Harrisburg; KYW, Philadelphia; KDKA, Pittsburgh; WYOU, Scranton

Rhode Island: WPRI, Providence

South Carolina: WCSC, Charleston; WLTX, Columbia; WBTW, Florence; WSPA, Spartanburg

Tennessee: WDEF, Chattanooga; WVLT, Knoxville; WREG, Memphis; WTVF, Nashville; WJHL, Tri-Cities

Texas: KTVT, Dallas

Virginia: WCAV, Charlottesville; WTKR, Norfolk; WTVR, Richmond; WDBJ, Roanoke

Vermont: WCAX, Burlington

Washington: KEPR, Kennewick; KIRO, Seattle; KREM, Spokane; KIMA, Yakima

Wisconsin: WFRV, Green Bay; WKBT, La Crosse; WISC, Madison; WDJT, Milwaukee; WSAW, Wausau

West Virginia: WVNS, Beckley; WDTV, Weston

Any CBS television station that is not listed above that is in Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana or Texas will be showing the Houston-Miami game. Any CBS television station is not listed above that is in Colorado, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, Utah, New Mexico, Ohio or West Virginia will get the Bengals-Broncos game. Also, KPIX in San Francisco will be the only CBS station that will not broadcast any of these three games.